Avondale DUI

Avondale DUI

An Avondale DUI attorney is experienced with the DUI process in Maricopa County, Arizona. It is their job to help you understand the law, protect your rights and inform you of your responsibilities within the Arizona DUI process. The Enholm Law, PLLC Avondale DUI attorney appointed to your case can meet with you, in Avondale, and evaluate all of the specific issues pertaining to your case. Call today and arrange a free consultation with an Avondale DUI attorney to go over the specifics of your case and DUI mandatory penalties.

The Arizona DUI laws are newly defined and as tough as any state in the United States. These newer, more strict, laws have increased the risk for any driver that has been stopped, and charged, while driving under the influence. Even standard DUI convictions now carry mandatory jail time and license suspensions. Contacting an Avondale DUI Attorney, experienced with the Arizona DUI process, can help you to reduce your felony or misdemeanor DUI charges. It is also our primary job to insure that your rights are observed and protected when facing ”Extreme DUI” or “Super Extreme DUI” charges.

What Constitutes Under The Influence

Arizona Revised Statute (ARS) 28-1381 states that any driver who has 0.05 or less alcohol concentration in their bloodstream is considered sober under Arizona law. If you have a blood alcohol concentration that is between 0.05 and 0.08, you are also not considered to be under the influence. You can be determined to be guilty in this scenario if other, competent, evidence is present. When you have a blood alcohol concentration that is over 0.08 you are determined, under Arizona law, to be under the influence. Any person who has a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or greater is defined as being under “extreme influence”. The penalties involved with “extreme influence” are much greater. Under the influence includes intoxicating liquor, a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance, any drug or any combination of liquor, vapor releasing substances or drugs if you are impaired in the slightest degree. Your Avondale DUI attorney can insure that you understand exactly what the risks are and how to proceed given your specific charges.

Possible Penalties

While no two cases are alike, there are set standards for the penalties involved. Below you will find a general overview of penalties that could be levied for driving under the influence. Consulting with an Avondale DUI Attorney is critical to insure your rights are protected.

Arizona DUI – First Drunk Driving Offense

  • Minimum Jail Time of 24 hours
  • DUI Base Fine = $250
  • Arizona DUI Surcharge = $200
  • Probation Surcharge = $10
  • Prison Construction Assessment = $500
  • Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment = $500
  • Jail – Minimum 24 Hours up to 10 Days
  • License Suspension – From 90-360 Days
  • Ignition Interlock Device – Court May Order Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device at the expense of the Convicted DUI Offender.

Arizona DUI – Second Drunk Driving Offense

  • Minimum Jail Time of 30 days
  • DUI Base Fine = $500
  • Arizona DUI Surcharge= $400
  • Probation Surcharge = $10
  • Prison Construction Assessment = $1,250
  • Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment = $1,250
  • Jail – Minimum 30 Days up to 90 Days
  • Community Restitution – Minimum 30 Days
  • License Suspension – One Year
  • Ignition Interlock Device – Court Ordered Ignition Interlock Device
  • Complete Alcohol or Other Drug Screening, Education or Treatment Program

Arizona DUI – Third Drunk Driving Offense

It is important to note that if offense occurs with 84 months of a previous DUI it is automatically considered an Aggravated DUI.

  • Minimum Jail Time – No Statutory Minimum
  • DUI Base Fine = $750
  • Arizona DUI Surcharge = $600
  • Probation Surcharge = $10
  • Prison Construction Assessment = $1,500
  • Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment = $1,500
  • DUI Abatement Fee = $250
  • Jail – Minimum 4 Months
  • License Suspension – One Year
  • Ignition Interlock Device – Court Ordered Ignition Interlock Device
  • Complete Alcohol or Other Drug Screening, Education or Treatment Program

The Arizona Extreme DUI

A person who falls under the category of “Extreme DUI” faces specific laws and penalties in Arizona. A person is said to be under Extreme DUI if their blood alcohol concentration is 0.15 or higher. This can occur within two hours of driving or actually being in control of a vehicle. When convicted of Extreme DUI, the individual is convicted of a criminal misdemeanor. If you have been charged with Extreme DUI, contact an Enholm Law, PLLC Avondale DUI Attorney to make sure you understand exactly what you are facing.

Extreme Drunk Driving Convictions in Arizona

First Extreme DUI Conviction

In the case of a first extreme DUI Offense the following penalties can be incurred:

  • $900 fine ($500 + 80% surcharge)
  • An Additional $250 for a “DUI Assessment”
  • An Additional $1250 extreme DUI assessment.
  • Driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year.
  • You will also have to install (at your expense) an Ignition Interlock Device in all of your vehicles.

Second Extreme DUI Conviction(Within 5 years of the first)

In the case of a second extreme DUI, the following penalties can be incurred:

  • $450 fine ($250 + 80% surcharge)
  • An Additional $250 for a “DUI Assessment”
  • An Additional $1000 extreme DUI assessment.
  • Driver’s license will be suspended from 90 days to 1 year.
  • You will also have to install (at your expense) an Ignition Interlock Device in all of your vehicles.

Working with an Avondale DUI Attorney

Your first interaction with an Enholm Law, PLLC Avondale DUI Attorney is going to be a free consultation. During your initial free consultation, you and your Attorney will devise a strategy plan to move forward. This is a time set aside for you to review the important facts and legal issues of your case. You will also discuss any and all documents that have been drafted and any evidence that has been compiled. During this initial meeting, your Avondale DUI Attorney advise you on areas of risk and areas of strength in your case.

Enholm Law, PLLC – What to expect

At Enholm Law, PLLC, we take our clients seriously and realize that you are turning to us to help protect your rights and interests during this process. Any involvement with the law can be a stressful, emotional time and our staff is here to provide you the legal and personal support you may need. We insure that every client receives the following treatment.

  • Bi-weekly calls concerning the status of your case.
  • All of your calls will be returned within 24 hours.
  • A clear fee structure based on an hourly or flat fee model.
  • A comprehensive plan that everyone understands.
  • A high level of competency from our Attorneys.
  • Ongoing training for all of our legal staff on the most recent laws and statutes surrounding your case.
  • Meetings arranged in the Avondale area for your convenience.

Call (602) 889-6273 to schedule your first free consultation meeting with an Enholm Law, PLLC Avondale DUI Attorney today.